Peeling Potatoes

You can guess from this blog I’m a woodworker.  The folks that know me will tell you I won’t shut up about it.

I’m a joiner, not a carver, but I have to be able to carve from time to time.  The knifeline in the photo above shows how I get accurate cuts by hand.  This simple carving trick creates a path of least resistance for the saw to follow.

Earlier this week I posted a video of a man making pliers out of solid wood using a carving knife.  I’ve seen these pliers before, but I had no idea how it was done.  The way they work was easy enough to understand, but Steve French on YouTube has a more detailed explanation of the process in two videos.  Part 1 shows layout and how it works, and Part 2 shows the cuts.  I’m going to try this, and I’ll probably film it.  Band Aids will be on standby…

Carving has had my attention lately, and I’m thinking about trying my hand at spoons.  I found Jeff Ballantyne and was inspired enough to get myself a hook knife.  Not sure why it surprised me, but Paul Sellers has more than one video about it.

“It’s just a question of peeling potatoes.  Who can peel potatoes?  Can you peel potatoes?  I think you can.”

Paul Sellers on spooncarving

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Woodworking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peeling Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Whatever You Call It | Kinderhook Contracting

Leave a Reply

