Feeling a Little Nostalgic

At different times since I started woodworking, I’ve had access to workshop space.  Sometimes a garage, sometimes an outbuilding.  Right now, I’m working on it…

My first real exposure to woodworking was in a two man furniture shop.  It was the greatest work experience of my life.  I had (helped) build birdhouses with my grandfather when I was very young, and I took a shop class in seventh grade.  But I was almost thirty before I really dug in.

I soaked up every bit of knowledge I could get my hands on.  I started making things on my own.

I made this corner cabinet to match the existing cabinets in the kitchen.  A simple rustic design:  Plywood carcase with a faceframe, and overlay doors.  This was almost 20 years ago.

Corner Cabinet

My Journeyman Project

Traditionally, as a condition of graduating to journeyman, an apprentice would design and build a piece to be scrutinized by his master.  I didn’t have a master, but the homeowner was happy with the end result.  And so was I.

I’ve always wanted to be in a strong position to produce full time.  Conditions must be right, though.  I need facilities, access to lumber, and most importantly – time.  It’s a leap of faith to go from remodeling to woodworking, but that is my plan.

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Carpentry, Project, Woodworking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

