A Very Eventful Spring

April has been a whirlwind of activity;  my Grandmother became very ill and passed away, I was hit from behind totalling my car, and much progress has been made on my woodworking future.

I have been mostly ignoring my social media this past weekend, traveling from Virginia to Massachusetts for my Grandmother’s funeral.  I drove up this past Friday, and returned on Sunday.  While it was nice to see family, it was a solemn gathering.  My heart is broken for my uncles and aunts, and all my cousins.  I lost my mother when I was a young man, and the world can become a scary place when the voice of unconditional love goes silent.

I have finally (after almost a month) received a settlement offer from the insurance company.  I will be shopping for a new vehicle, while waiting for the check to arrive. Hopefully I can find a nice truck in my price range.

On a more positive note, the tool shopping has begun for the new workshop my partner and I are setting up.  I know he has already purchased a bandsaw and jointer, and we already have a good table saw.  My contribution just arrived by UPS this weekend.

Nova Comet ll

Nova Comet ll Midi Lathe

The one big issue with this machine is that you have to break in the motor.  It’s not really a problem for me because I won’t be able to actually use it for a week or two.  We have a lot of work to do before production can begin.

I found out about this lathe on Twitter.  I complimented @SpeedysWoodshop on a project he was working on and mentioned I was looking for a lathe. @ThisOldWorkshop commented as well and offered me a deal on the Comet.  I ordered it from them and couldn’t be happier.  If you’re in the market for a benchtop lathe, reach out to @ThisOldWorkshop on Twitter, you won’t regret it.  And if you want to watch a review of the machine, be sure to watch Choosing a Wood-Turning Lathe for a Small Shop.

Please take note:  If you buy this machine, make sure you read the instructions before you fire it up.  If you don’t break in the motor, you risk damaging it.

Once we get the shop up and running I’m going to be making YouTube videos, and I’ll probably do a video on this lathe.  Stay tuned…

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Project, Woodworking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Very Eventful Spring

  1. I shall be passing all advice to my ‘handy’ other half!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellen Hawley says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother.

    Like

  3. Jeff Branch says:

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother. And your truck. Like can be tough at times causing so real deep thinking. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kinderhook88 says:

    Thanks, Jeff. I appreciate that. I have happier news I’ll try to share this evening.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Some Happy News | Kinderhook Contracting

Leave a Reply

