Sometimes I Forget to Protect Myself

We’re in the middle of a bathroom remodel, and I’m reminded (daily) of my age.  I can’t scurry around an attic the way I could ten years ago.  As a consequence, I’ll try to minimize the time I spend up there – if I can.  Sometimes trying to hurry an uncomfortable job just makes it worse.

It’s blurry and dark because I didn’t want to spend another moment up there trying for a nice picture.  It should have taken two trips up there to accomplish the goal – one trip up to see what I needed, and a second to get it done.  Unfortunately it took three.

My task was to attach the hose to the fan housing, and then extend it out into the eave.  The roof had a low pitch, so I had to lay on my belly and stretch way out to connect the hose.  But first, I had to pull the insulation out of the way.

Here’s where it went wrong:  I didn’t make sure the fan was off before I pulled out the insulation.  We were using it along with a box fan in the window to help keep dust out of the rest of the house.  This fan is so quiet, you really cant tell it’s on – even in the silence of the attic. The fan was on, and when I pulled the insulation out it blew a cloud of unpleasantness right into my face.  Since I was on my belly, I couldn’t get away fast enough.  I had to make an extra trip down to cough and catch my breath.

Next time, I will be wearing a dust mask.

On a more positive note, here’s a series of shots showing our progress so far:

 

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Carpentry, demolition, drywall, Tile and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sometimes I Forget to Protect Myself

  1. Jeff Branch says:

    I feel your pain. We have a low pitch shed dormer and I have had to replace the gable vent fan twice. I’ll be it is just as confining a space. 🙂 Your bathroom project is coming along really well. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Christine Penhale says:

    I love your choice of tiles; great taste AND great skill. I can’t wait to see the finished renovation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Totally, 100% feel your pain on this one. I love the job you are doing and I give you credit for doing it. I’ve done tons of remodeling over the years, and you’re right, as you age, you have to think better before doing. I haven’t mastered that yet 🙂 Thanks for following my blog. You had me at dust mask – I’m following .

    Like

  4. Kinderhook88 says:

    “You had me at dust mask” Haha! I’m usually pretty good about safety glasses and hearing protection, but covering my nose and mouth drives me nuts. More often then not, I just “conveniently” forget.

    Like

Leave a Reply

