A New Direction

Just recently I’ve been trying to put together another website devoted to woodworking, but I’m stuck on exactly which direction I want it to go.

I originally intended this blog to be mostly an online portfolio for my remodeling business, but recently it has become more personal since my motivation for that kind of work has been dwindling.  Remodeling is not glamorous and fun like it seems on TV.  The magic of editing hides the grueling tasks that leave you exhausted and filthy, and the reward never matches the effort.  It’s getting harder and harder to show up for a day of labor when all I really want to do is get my hands on a few boards and make something.

My girlfriend had back surgery the first week in August.  Her recovery has been difficult and I have devoted most of my time since then to being present for her.  Slowly but surely she is getting better.  Since I haven’t been working, I’ve been out of the social media loop and haven’t had much to post here.  Progress on the shop with my partner has come to something of a standstill as well.

CrossroadsI feel like I’m at a crossroad.

I follow over 100  woodworking channels on YouTube.  Obvously, I can’t watch all of their uploads or I wouldn’t have time for anything else.  The videos that get my attention are on techniques that I’m unfamiliar with, and project videos.  There are only a few channels that I watch religiously, either because they are entertaining or they provide consistent quality instruction.

One thing I have noticed is a lack of very basic instruction in woodworking.  I know there are a few examples, but not nearly enough.  I frequently see woodworkers doing things in a way that suggests that they learned a technique from someone who didn’t fully understand it.  I’ve seen people holding a handsaw wrong, for example.

I worked in a cabinet shop once, and I was amazed at the way some of the production was handled.  The worker building cabinet doors was clamping them for a half-hour or so, and then running them through the planer.  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.

I’m the kind of woodworking geek that reads articles on adhesives, and I love to share what I have learned from almost two decades of woodworking.  Perhaps my way is clear after all.  My woodworking site is still under construction, but I would be grateful if you stopped by.  Any feedback would be appreciated.

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Woodworking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Direction

  1. Do what you love man. I agree there definitely isn’t enough beginner instruction online. The problem with only producing content for beginners is that I would think you’d become very tired of it very quickly. I’ve had people ask me to do some beginner projects for my YouTube channel, and I plan to accommodate but it just seems so not worth it at times, haha.

    Like

    • Kinderhook88 says:

      It is only part of a bigger plan. I’ve taught friends and co-workers over the years, and I really enjoy that. I’m also going to share what I’m really capable of, but I’m limited by what I have to work with right now.

      Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Having operated a cabinet shop and renovation business, albeit for a short time, I know what you mean about the reality vs. the reality-show views. If you can mix theory in as a basis for good technique, that could be interesting. If you can combine it in a way that lets beginners work toward making something, that would be even better. Beginners still want to end up with something they can look at and say “I made that.”

    In a bit of feedback about the woodworking site, I’d give some thought to the revolving gallery of images. We used that on a company website and a lot of people found the cycling to be distracting. I would definitely find a way to show your work, but don’t let it distract the viewer from what you’ve written.

    Whatever you come up with, I’ll visit. Good luck.

    Like

  3. Randall says:

    Good idea. I’ll be visiting

    Like

  4. Ellen Hawley says:

    As a non-woodworker, I have no idea which way you’re headed but trust it’ll turn out to be the right one. Oooh, that’s so easy to say about someone else’s life. And having boasted about my non-woodworking credentials, I’m now remembering learning to whittle while I was a kid: I’d take a bit of wood and a knife, whittle until I had a pile of shavings and the rest was too small to hold, then think I’d done something. It was a long, long time before it occurred to me that other whittlers were trying to turn the piece of wood into something other than shavings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kinderhook88 says:

      Learning to whittle is arguably the best way to start. That’s the essence of it. All of the methods of joinery are just sophisticated forms of whittling, no matter if it’s with machines or hand tools. It is important to learn when to stop though 🙂

      For many years woodworking has been my life. Unfortunately I’ve let it take second place to the hourly wage. I’d rather be broke doing what I love than be broke slaving away for someone else’s benefit. I’m going to take a risk, and try to enjoy the rest of my life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

