The Progress of Change

I’m in a new place, starting over… again.  My history is turbulent.  Maybe when I’m too old to do anything else, I’ll write a book about it.  One thing that has remained constant (for most of my adult life anyway) is woodworking.

I realized what I wanted to do with my life when I was in my mid 20s.  I’ve been chasing that dream since.  The everyday necessities of life require steady income, so I worked and worked.  When I was almost 30, I dropped out of the rat race for good.  Half of the reason for that was the economic crash.  The other half was the realization that I was getting nowhere.  I got my contractors license and went to work for myself.

You could say that I had a pretty good go at it.  I got by, and made a lot of folks happy with the work that I did.  But on the back side of it, I have nothing.  I know why my business was not more successful, but that’s a topic for another post.  My plan was to stack up some cash and eventually be able to go full time woodworking.

Suddenly I’m single again, and living in a new place.  My daughter is grown now and married.  I have no responsibilities except to myself.  I’ve been battling depression just recently, but I have a new hope.  And my way is clear.

hanging up my hat

I’m hanging up my remodeling hat, and I’m building a workbench.

A knockdown version… in case change hits me again.

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Woodworking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Progress of Change

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I wish you luck. I followed a similar path for a short period. I gave up the remodeling business and woodworking for a while and rejoined the rat race. I’m still in the race, but woodworking has reemerged as a hobby and remodeling projects have taken over my own house.

    Like

  2. Greg Merritt says:

    The best of luck! Never underestimate the value of fresh start. The possibilities are limitless.

    Like

  3. Brian Clites says:

    You’ll do great! I can’t wait to see what creations you make at the new bench!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

