Winter’s Challenge

Lately I’ve had a tendency to sort of hibernate in the winter.  I used to make the joke that I was solar powered – if the sun was out, I’d be doing something.  For many years I worked outside all year round, and I’m glad that’s behind me now.  These days, the cold and the short days due to daylight savings make me less likely to work as much in winter.

For the past couple of months, I’ve been doing a lot of things online.  I’m still trying to make some sense out of my new woodworking site.  Everything I want to do with it design-wise backfires on me.  I’m also learning SketchUp and spending more and more time learning new things about woodworking.

I’m not in a good position to do much actual woodworking.  The cold is preventing me from spending a lot of time in the garage.  I have a heater, but it’s propane and I can’t run it constantly.  When spring comes I expect to be a lot more productive.

My challenge is to find something other than screwing around online to keep me busy.  I added another project plan to my store, and I’ll be adding yet another as soon as I figure out how to show dimensions in a complex shape.

One thing I’ve been fiddling around with is making bent wood rings.  If you’re interested in what I’ve learned about this look for a post about it this weekend.

Five Rings

Bent Wood Rings

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Project, Woodworking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter’s Challenge

  1. Greg Merritt says:

    I hear ya…the cold sucks the life out of me. Everything seems harder. Its currently about 12deg in the garage. Too dang cold to steal an hour in the shop after work. At least it gives me more time to design and write about stuff that will get me into trouble. 😉
    The rings are pretty cool! I’ll be watching for your post on them.

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Bent Wood Ringmaking Obsession | Kinderhook Woodcraft

Leave a Reply

