New (old) Saws and Some Bad News

I’ll start with the bad news.  Two days after replacing my alternator, my motor stalled and refused to start again.  A friend of a friend agreed to come out to look at it and sure enough, the motor is shot.  It jumped time and either lost compression, broke the camshaft or maybe both – who knows.  I’ll find out the extent of the damage eventually, but for now, I’m rideless.

This sucks, but it isn’t the bad news.  The bad news is I’m separated from my workbench for a while.

Rewind to this past Saturday…

After replacing the alternator, I was riding around to make sure it was running right when I had a notion to stop in the antique store in Ruckersville.  It’s more of a flea-market-type-thing than an antique store, but you never know what you’ll find in unexpected places.

Here’s what I found, starting with the nicer saw:

This one was less nice:

Both saws are 7 TPI

I’ve been scouring The Disstonian Institute for information.  Since the mystery saw has no medallion, I’m not going to spend any time trying to figure it out.  Feel free to sound off in the comments if you have any input.  I’ll post it in other places also, to see if anyone can ID it from the pictures.

I bought these saws thinking that they would make a fun restoration project.  I knew right away that the saw with the Warrented Superior medallion was worth having. The mystery saw badly needed jointing, and will likely be the practice dummy for sharpening.  And I thought nothing of the broken handle because I could just make a new one.  A little later that evening I got to thinking, “What are the chances…”  This week has kept me very busy with work, so I haven’t had a chance to stop back by the antique store, until today.  I went in and asked the owner if she had seen the missing piece, and would you believe it?

I figure by the time I get the plates all cleaned up, I’ll have a way up to Pennsylvania to be reunited with my workbench.  Then I can see about sharpening.

About Kinderhook88

Remodeling Contractor | Woodworker
This entry was posted in Carpentry, hand tools, Woodworking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New (old) Saws and Some Bad News

  1. Greg Merritt says:

    I hate to hear that about your vehicle. Had the same thing happen to me a few years back. Rubber timing belt snapped and destroyed the engine.
    Good luck with the saws. I think you can make something of them for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kinderhook88 says:

      Thanks for the sympathy, Greg. It’s painful, but I have a tendency to keep buying throwaways. I had this on almost exactly 13 months. I feel like I got my money’s worth out of it.
      The saws make everything all better tho 🙂

      Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Sorry about the truck. I had an old Dodge. I started it at a gas station and the badly worn timing chain skipped a bunch of teeth. I was lucky. low-tech engine and some friends helped me repair it over a very cold weekend.

    Good luck with the saw handle. If nothing else, it’s a nice thing to display in the shop.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: A Vinegar Bath to Remove Rust | Kinderhook Woodcraft

Leave a Reply

